OAIMA Annual Meeting and Trade Show a huge success

by Jon M. Casey

With an estimated 500 aggregate industry and industrial material professionals attending the 2016 Ohio Aggregates and Industrial Materials Association annual meeting and trade show in Columbus, OH, organizers lauded participants and attendees for their support of this successful association. The event, held November 17 and 18 featured a dozen breakout session speakers during the two-day event with more than 60 tradeshow exhibitors lining the perimeters of the facility lobby and banquet hall area. During the informative breakout sessions, attendees had the opportunity to learn about the possible effects of this year’s Presidential election on the national economy especially as it relates to the aggregates industry. Presentations by industry experts like economist Dr. Richard Vedder and Mark Savit, Esq., senior counsel for Husch Blackwell, LLP, specializing in MSHA litigation, offered ideas on how to plan for the upcoming year in light of the transition that is expected to take place within government at the federal and state levels.

Other sessions, covering topics of sales and marketing, the use of modern technology like drones and associated software, as well as ideas on how to find more qualified and competent workers in today’s job market, headed the agenda. An encouraging presentation by Keynote speaker, Josh Bleill, former Marine and motivational speaker, gave luncheon participants some insight into the challenges that an individual faces when recovering from a serious war injury. Today, Bleill challenges others to face their circumstances with dignity and hope in pursuit of success, despite ongoing difficulties.

On the second day of the two day event, association officials awarded four scholarships and a number of awards including the Hall of Fame Award and the Distinguished Life Member Award. Awards for 2016 included:

Hall of Fame — Hugh Gunn; Distinguished Life Member Awards to Andy Haumesser, Bob Hunt and Bill Forshey; Robert A. Wilkinson Awards to Representative Al Landis and Senator Troy Balderson; Rocky Awards to David Groth and Jamie Sturgeon; and the Edward Hole Award to David Miles.

Other awards included: Reclamation in Progress Awards: National Lime & Stone Company, South Columbus Aggregates, Lockbourne, Ohio; The Shelly Co., Northeast Division, Shelly Materials Shalersville, North, Mantua, Ohio. Pride Awards went to: National Lime & Stone Company, Cambridge Aggregate Sales Yard, Cambridge, Ohio, The OLEN Corporation, Columbus Plant No. 3 (sand & gravel) and Plant No. 4 (limestone), Columbus, Ohio; The OLEN Corporation, Area Aggregate, LLC (limestone), Woodville, Ohio; and to the Melvin Stone Company, Main Plant, Wilmington, Ohio.

Inspector Awards went to National Lime & Stone Company, Melvin Stone Company, The OLEN Corporation, and the Shelly Co., Northeast Division for these company’s merits because of MSHA regular site inspections.

Four scholarships totaling $4000 were presented to students who have attained outstanding achievement and scholastic abilities in their pursuit of degrees in the geological, earth science, engineering and agricultural fields. Offered by OAIMA, the Home Safety Association the Mental Health Council and the Ohio Aglime Council, this year’s were given to: Ryan Gehret, University of Toledo, Construction Technology; Ryan Hustosky, University of Akron, Civil Engineering; Justine Moran, The Ohio State University, Civil Engineering-Surveying and Mapping; and Thomas Zigmund, Ohio University, Civil Engineering. For more information on the OAIMA, visit their website at oaima.org .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *